Jeremy Burton

Clerk of the Council

Telephone: 01986 892236

The Council offices are at 1A, Broad Street, Bungay, Suffolk, NR35 1EE.

On the first Saturday of the month the Council holds drop-in surgeries at the Council Offices from 10:30am – 12:00pm. All other meetings are held at the Riverside Centre at Bungay Staithe.

For more information click on the link below.

Find Out More

The Town Council is Bungay’s local level of government, headed by the Town Mayor. The Council was created in succession to the Urban District Council in 1974. Elections take place every four years to fill the 15 seats on the Council.

The Mayor of Bungay wears a chain of office consisting of a medallion and engraved silver plates with the names of previous holders of the office, and is elected annually by vote of the Council. The Mayor is Civic Head of Bungay.

The town hosts an annual Civic Evening where hospitality is extended to civic leaders from Beccles, Halesworth and Southwold and to the Chairman of the District Council.

Bungay has two separately elected representatives on the former body and Bungay area has one on the latter. These authorities and other statutory bodies consult extensively with the Council about matters of mutual interest or concern.

The Town Council appoints representatives to many local bodies including the Town Trust. Castle Trust, BEBA and boards of school governors. The Council’s principle source of income is from a locally raised precept or rate.

Find Out More

Further information regarding Bungay Town Council and minutes of meetings can be found on their website.